WNUR Conference of the Birds, 2012-07-31

“Conference of the Birds” is my weekly radio program on WNUR-FM. It airs on Tuesdays from 5-7:30 am Chicago time (UTC-5). And, of course, when technology cooperates, you can just come here for the archives. You can subscribe to the podcast with this URL (click here to subscribe in iTunes).

This week’s show starts with an hour of music from Mali. The day before the show, I was troubled to read a news report of a couple who were stoned to death by the northern Islamist rebellion. I’m not expert on either the music or the politics of Mali, but I have loved a lot of music from there, and I do know it’s wrong to stone people to death (for having children outside of marriage).

An hour of Malian music was made that much easier by the fact that Rail Band’s “Sundiata” is 30 minutes by itself! (As an aside, while doing web research to remind myself of the legend of Sundiata, I came across this beautiful illustrated retelling of it by David Wisnewski — check it out…)

The rest of the show is basically just a hodgepodge, but there are some good ones in there like the funky Sam Rivers tune…



download program (137MB, 2 hrs 30 min)

Artist: “Track” – Album (Label)
Ali Farka Toure: “Boyrei” – The River (Mango)
Nâ Hawa Doumbia: “ Dan Té Dinyé La” – La Grande Cantatrice Malienne Vol 3 (Awesome Tapes From Africa)
Oumou Sangare: “Kayini Wura” – Ko Sira (World Circuit)
The Rail Band: “Soundiata (L’Exil)” – Belle Epoque, Vol. 1: Soundiata (Stern’s Africa)
Salif Keita & Ambassadeurs International: “N’Toman” – The Music in My Head (Stern’s Africa)
Super Biton de Segou: “Bara Musso” – Afro Jazz du Mali (Bolibana)
Seu Jorge: “Meu Parceiro” – Músicas Para Churrasco, Vol. 1 (Wrasse)
Count Ossie & the Mystic Revelation of Rastafari: “Sam’s Intro” – Tales of Mozambique (Dynamic Sounds)
Prince Far I: “Borno Dub” – Dubwise (Frontline)
Ngozi Family Band: “Nizakupanga Ngozi”
Erykah Badu: “No Love” – Baduizm (Kedar Entertainment)
Nneka: “Walking” – Concrete Jungle (Decon )
Os Siete Diabos: “Madrugada Zero Hora” – Os Siete Diabos (Odeon)
Nu Sounds: “Evelyn” – Spaceship Lullaby (Atavistic/Unheard Music Series)
Pastor T.L. Barrett & the Youth For Christ Choir: “Joyful Noise” – Like a Ship (Without a Sail) (Light in the Attic)
Sam Rivers: “Tranquility” – Crystals (Verve)
Marty Ehrlich’s Traveler’s Tales: “Malinke’s Dance” – Malinke’s Dance (Omnitone)
Freddie Hubbard/Woody Shaw: “Lotus Blossom” – Double Take (Blue Note)
Kenny Dorham: “El Matador” – Matador (Blue Note)
Trio M: “Don Knotts” – The Guest House (Enja)
Eri Yamamoto Trio: “Night Shadows” – The Next Page (AUM Fidelity)
Tin Hat Trio: “Sand Dog Blues” – Helium (Blue Note)