WNUR Conference of the Birds, 2014-01-14

“Conference of the Birds” is my weekly radio program on WNUR-FM. It airs on Tuesdays from 5-7:30 am Chicago time (UTC-5). And, of course, when technology cooperates, you can just come here for the archives. You can subscribe to the podcast with this URL (click here to subscribe in iTunes).

This week ended up going long, so the playlist below extends quite a bit after the archive ends (which is just as the Rempis/Abrams/Ra track is warming up.) You’ll have to use your imagination after that.



download program (152MB, 2 hrs 38 min)

Artist: “Track” – Album (Label)
Etoile de Dakar: “Thiapa Thioly” – Vol 2: Thiapathioly (Sterns Africa)
Joyce Mogatusi: “Poppies” – A Tribute to Joyce Mogatusi (Electric Jive)
Ramblers International: “Agyanka Dabra” – The Hit Sound Of The Ramblers Dance Band (Afrodisia)
Bholen et l’Orchestre Negro Succes: “Pacha-Pachanga” – Congo Fiesta Compilation (Sea Never Dry)
Orchestre Tempo: “Yebo Edi Pachanga” – Racubah! A Collection of Modern Afro Rythms (Comet)
Daniel Owino Misiani & Shirati Band: “Wuoro Monono” – Benga Blast (Earthworks)
Prince Nico Mbarga: “Sweet Mother” – Aki Special (Rounder Select)
Bronx River Parkway: “Quienes Que Resolverlo” – Soul Fire: The Majestic Collection (Soul Fire)
Billy Butler & the Chanters: “Nevertheless” – Curtis Mayfield’s Chicago Soul (Legacy/Epic )
Bobby Eaton: “We Gonna Do Our Thing” – Get Your Lie Straight: A Galaxy of Funky Soul (BGP)
Lucille Spann: “Women’s Lib” – Pepper’s Jukebox (Numero Group)
David Byrne / Fatboy Slim / Sharon Jones: “Dancing Together” – Here Lies Love (Nonesuch)
The Sugarman Three: “Solid Funk” – Soul Fire: The Majestic Collection (Soul Fire)
Mfalme: “Naku Penda” – Let Your Soul Fly (Asante)
Parliament: “Funkentelechy” – Funkentelechy vs the Placebo Syndrome (Casablanca Records)
Valerie June: “Wanna Be On Your Mind” – Pushin’ Against A Stone (Sunday Best)
Angelo Badalamenti: “Montage from Twin Peaks” – Twin Peaks – Fire Walk With Me (Music From The Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Warner Bros. Records)
The Dreamers: “Galizur” – Ipos (Book of Angels, v. 14) (Tzadik)
Marcel Khalife: “Caress” – Caress (Nagam)
Billy Tipton Memorial Saxophone Quartet: “Fat Bearded Lady Walks the Tightrope” – Saxhouse (Knitting Factory Works)
Steven Bernstein: “Simeon (yis May Chu)” – Diaspora Suite (Tzadik)
Duke Ellington with Charles Mingus and Max Roach: “Fleurette Africain” – Money Jungle (Blue Note)
Grachan Moncur III: “New Africa” – Exploration (Capri)
Mark Helias: “Beau Regard” – Attack The Future (Enja Records)
Curtis Hasselbring: “White Sauce Hot Sauce Boss?” – The New Mellow Edwards (Skirl Records)
Fredy Jumbo et son ensemble: “Oh! Cette Musique” – Swing Caraïbe, Caribbean Jazz Pioneers In Paris (1929-1946) (Fremeaux & Associes)
Quartetski Does Prokofiev: “Assai Moderato” – Visions Fugitives Op. 22 (Ambiances Magnetiques)
Dave Rempis / Joshua Abrams / Avreeayl Ra: “Noria” – Aphelion (Aerophonic)
Tim Daisy / Jeb Bishop: “One After” – Old Shoulders (Relay Records)
Auris + Gino: “A+G.1” – Rub (Public Eyesore)
William Parker: “People Get Ready / The Inside Song” – I Plan to Stay a Believer (bonus tracks) (AUM Fidelity)
DKV Trio + Mats Gustafsson/Paal Nilsson-Love/Massimo Pupillo: “All Out” – Schl8hof (Trost)
Getatchew Mekuria & the Ex & Guests: “Aynotche terabu/Shemonmwanaye” – Moa Anbessa (Terp )
The Blue Notes: “Funk Dem Dudu > To Erico” – Blue Notes for Johnny (Ogun)
Dee Alexander: “Butterfly” – Wild is the Wind (Blujazz)